• Slotrips guest reviews

    Here's what our guests have to say about our hiking, walking and cycling tours

    Slotrips tours on Tripadvisor, Slovenia
  • Self-guided point-to-point walking tour

    Emily from Australia, visited in June 2016

    We could not believe the effort Miha went to make our trip to Slovenia so amazing. He responded quickly to emails and put together an itinerary that showed he understood exactly what we wanted out of our trip including amazing food, comfortable accommodation and hiking in the Slovenian alps. We could not have done the hiking trip without Miha's careful instructions for each day of the walk as the walks were not as well marked as what we had previously encountered. Plus, SloTrips organised all of our accommodation, transfers of our bags each day and rafting and sightseeing on the final day. Again, our guide's knowledge of this beautiful country and the best place to stop for fresh cherries was incredible. Thank you so much for a wonderful travel experience, Slotrips is truly a company that understand the travelling preferences of the future - autonomy and adventure with the right amount of guidance so you can navigate a place for yourself and don't get trapped by tourist gimmicks. A day trip alone with Slotrips will not be enough to experience this great country so book in more time.

    Custom made private guided hiking trip

    Ryan and Jessica from USA, visited in May 2016

    Short review: Slotrips is great and will customize any tour for you. Book your tour with them!


    Longer review: Wife and I were looking to see the highlights of Slovenia in 5 days before moving on to Croatia. We worked with Miha, giving him our interests, must do activities, locations etc. Miha and team put together an exceptional itinerary, even making suggestions for the Croatia part.

     

    The tour guide for our trip was Domen. Domen was incredible throughout the whole trip making accommodations and taking us more adventures then we thought we would see. His local knowledge, stories, and great taste in food made for a vacation we will never forget!

    Will not hesitate to use Slotrips on our next trip to Slovenia (we will be back!) and will personally recommend them to any friends who visit.

    Self-guided family hiking trip

    John and Sarah from USA, visited in Aug 2016

    We had an excellent experience with SLOTRIPS for our self-guided tour in Slovenia. Miha was really accommodating from the beginning in trying to set up a self-guided tour for us with our two 9 year old children. We wanted to see Slovenia and also wanted some adventure along the way. The trip started with some hut hiking in Triglov National Park and then made our way down to Piran with adventures in the Soca River along the way. We met with Miha in the beginning of our trip and everything he had for us was well planned and organized. Along the trip we were able to easily contact him if there were any problems or if wanted some advice along the way. Thanks Miha and SLOTRIPS for a great adventure in Slovenia! We hope to come back someday!

    Self-guided: Via-ferratas across the Julian Alps

    Philip and Jakob from Denmark, visited in July 2015

    In the summer of 2015 we asked Miha to help us manoeuvre the Slovenian Alps with minimal exposure to civilisation, and we could not have been happier with the choice. Miha solved all logistical concerns from maps with alternative routes to safety equipment (we were skeptical at first, but learned to appreciate it!) to daily phone calls on the weather forecast. One tip: As we found Slotrips on Google we continually stressed that we were in very good shape because we feared the route would be too easy. We got what we asked for! It turns out very good shape for an avid mountaineer is indeed very good shape - but ultimately it lead to a highly rewarding experience in magnificent surroundings. We give the highest of recommendations to use Slotrips to plan any trip.

    Custom made guided family hiking trip

    Naomi from Singapore, visited in July 2016

    Miha organised an amazing 4-day hike for our family and friends. Ten of us in total, including six children aged 7-12 years. Together with our wonderful guide Maja, we walked from Bohinj to Bovec, staying in wonderful mountain huts. Maja then spent three days with us, organising all our adventures in Bovec. Thanks for an amazing holiday, and thanks Miha for being so prompt and detailed with all your correspondence.

    Self-guided point-to-point hiking trip

    Adina and Andreas from Israel, visited in June 2017

    My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 12 day visit in Slovenia. Slotrips organized a wonderful combination of a self-guided hiking tour and a one-day guided tour of the most beautiful sites in the country. Excellent accommodations, maps, explanations and luggage transfers for our point-to-point hike were all included. We can whole-heartedly recommend Slotrips!

    Guided 8-day Discover Slovenian Alps tour

    Kathryn from Ireland, visited in July 2016

    I booked the 8 day hiking trip with Slotrips as I had little experience hiking alone but and I felt this was a great way to gain some experience. I gained more than I could have imagined!! This was an incredible trip for me and it is all down to Miha and his team at Slotrips. From the first email Miha was prompt, positive, understanding and professional and Miha turned out to be the very same in person. He gave us the best of everything from the food to the hiking to the accommodation to the fun to the knowledge of the areas. His passion made our experience unforgettable. Miha looked out for everyone so well and he thought of everyone in that he adapted the hikes according to who was on the trip. Miha speaks English and Spanish fluently and he gave our group a great insight into the Slovenian way of life. We did so much swimming in lakes, rivers, waterfalls. We saw incredible views on our various hikes. We ate amazing local food especially as we came down from the mountain in local sheppard huts. We stayed in excellent accommodation (the mountain huts are actually very cosy and comfortable!) Everything we did was of the highest standard. It's going to be difficult to do an organised trip again as Miha has set the bar very high and I don't think others tours could match this one! Don't second question whether to book a trip with Slotrips as I can guarantee you won't be disappointed.

    Guided 8-day Best walks in Slovenia tour

    Jeanne and Will from USA, visited in September 2016

    I am Slovenian and always wanted to visit Slovenia. I am not a person that likes tourist traps or can sit still and just relax. My wife found this wonderful hiking trip, 8 day Best Walks in Slovenia guided tour. It was fantastic. We hiked from late morning until about 2:00 or 3:00 each day, finishing off with a late lunch and short hike back to the van. We usually returned between 5:00 and 6:00 each day. The lunches were fantastic local food often at a hiking hut or winery or other unique venue. I rarely wanted dinner as I was full from lunch. We had a diverse group of 7 with a wide range of hiking capabilities from true mountaineers to casual hikers. Miha (our guide) quickly assessed each person’s capabilities and figured out a way to challenge each one of us. The best part was that Miha had the ability and patience to get individuals to overcome their fears and experience much more than they would if they allowed their fear control them. With a small group, we could be flexible in what hikes we took and on what days. If the weather was going to be poor in one location, we would modify the schedule and adjust accordingly. Thus, we were able to have the best adventure and experience the best views possible. I highly recommend Slotrips and would go again in a heartbeat. It was a fantastic value for the money. We would recommend this tour to anyone who loves the great outdoors and hiking adventures!

    Guided 3-day hut-to-hut hiking tour

    Jeroen from Belgium, visited in August 2016

    I had booked a last-minute to Slovenia and wanted to really explore the Triglav national park region in depth. Since I didn't have a lot of time to prepare and it was high season I contacted Miha to see what my options were of joining a guided tour. Miha was very helpfull and responded very quickly to all my questions. I ended up doing the 3 day hut-to-hut trek in the julian alps, which I couldn't recommend more! The views were amazing, the trek offered a lot of variation, both in scenary and intensity, and the group atmosphere was great. Be prepared for some serious alpine hiking though, the second day (including the Kanjavec) is a long one for which some basic fitness level is needed. Our guide was however very aware of this and left it to the group to decide if we wanted to climb to the top of Kanjavec or not. For me personally this climb was the highlight of the trip so if you have the choice and are not afraid of hights, I'd say do it! :-)

    Guided 8-day Best walks in Slovenia tour

    Laurie from USA, visited in September 2016

    In September I experienced an incredible Slovenian adventure with Slotrips. Miha is a fabulous, knowledgeable guide; taking us on unique, well-planned adventures each day. Enjoyed it all from the breathtaking alpine scenery, waterfalls, unique caves, river rafting, stunning limestone peaks, delightful vintners, gorgeous gorges, and charming Ljubljana. The highlight were the treks in this hiker’s paradise. A perfect trip, can’t wait to take another adventure with the Slotrips group.

    Custom made guided hiking tour

    Rachel from USA, visited in June 2018

    Our tour guide in Slovenia was phenomenal. He was one of the best guides any of us have ever had and I would recommend you use him any time someone is planning a trip to that area.

    Self-guided point-to-point hiking trip

    Kim from USA, visited in July 2018

    Thanks for the wonderful time in Slovenia. It is one of the most beautiful places I have had the pleasure to visit. Looking forward to my return!

    Custom made family hiking tour

    Roxana from USA, visited in July 2018

    Thanks for everything!! Slovenia is a beautiful country and Slotrips was an awesome adventure company!!! Thanks to you and Domen!!

    Custom made hiking tour

    Sam & Ruth from Ireland, visited in June 2018

    Our expectations were exceeded, for sure. All accommodation, logistics etc were prefect. The range of scenery was really overwhelming and I really hope to return someday! Triglav National Park seems like a magical place that demands more time to explore. Thanks so much to you and your team for all the organization etc, it was a great trip and we would not hesitate to recommend it to others

    Self-guided hut-to-hut hiking tour

    Lara & Mark from Australia, visited in August 2018

    Just wanted to drop you a note to say thank you so very much for arranging our holiday. We had such a beautiful week in the Alps, the walking was superb and Mt Triglav gave us white-knuckle fever – but was an experience we will never forget. We met so many lovely people in the huts along the way and came home rejuvenated from a week in the outdoors. Very grateful for your organisation, took all the thinking out of the week and made it very enjoyable. Will happily recommend Slotrips to anyone keen on making the most of Slovenia! Thank you,

    Guided 8-day Best walks in Slovenia tour

    Kathy & Paul from USA, visited in September 2018

    We just finished the trip yesterday and I have to tell you we had a great time! We were very impressed with the hikes, the variety of activities, the lunches at the mountain huts, the wine tasting and the entire itinerary in general. It's amazing how many highlights of Slovenia we were able to see. Primoz and Aljaz were two of the best guides we have ever had on a hiking trip. They greeted every activity with enthusiasm and big smiles. We felt like we were traveling with friends instead of with a tour group. Paul and I have done about 20 small group walking/hiking trips and this was one of our favorites.

    Guided 8-day Best walks in Slovenia tour

    Lisa & Chris from USA, visited in September 2018

    I just wanted to say again to you, that my husband and I had a fantastic time in Slovenia thanks to you! The tour was perfect. I loved that it showed so many different highlights from your country: history, beautiful parks, lakes, the sea, the cave, mountain huts, winery, even the stallions. I felt like I got to see everything that makes Slovenia beautiful. We also enjoyed our guides and the group of 16 people. (any more people and it would lose the personal touch that we felt). We never felt rushed in any place that we visited and we never had to look at our watch. The food was outstanding, and when we went to the winery and the mountain huts we felt like we were visiting old friends. 

     

    Thank you also for arranging the shuttles, hotels and transportation. (Next time we travel - we are purchasing a phone that works in Europe). The hotels were beautiful and very clean with excellent breakfasts. Again, we never felt rushed, even in the morning, and when we returned in the evening, we still had time to enjoy the towns. Staying in each town for two nights was great, as we felt like we could unpack and relax.

     

    The hikes you chose were so beautiful! We were happy that every hike seemed different. Mountains, meadows, history... Great choices.

     

    We have been recommending Slovenia to everyone we know, and will let our friends know about Slotrips!

     

    Thanks again,

    Chris and Lisa Wagner

    All Posts
    ×